Jan Hladik

Artist 5- Jan Hladik

Jan Hladík:
Title of the piece: – Portrait of Alberto Giacometti
Info on the work: – Etching of the portrait of the artist Alberto Giacometti in 2002 by Jan Hladík
Materials used (What it’s made from) : – I imagine charcoal on canvas was used for to create this piece. That being said, I cannot confirm this as my research has come up inconclusive.
What it’s about  : – The piece is the portrait of Alberto Giacometti. Although the subject of the painting died in 1966, this etching was created in 2002 by Jan Hladík.
What I think about the work (Give reasons) : – I think the work ages Alberto Giacometti quite a lot, yet gives him a cartoon-y aspect. Mainly due to the big dark eyes, neat mess of hair and the smooth old features.
What the artwork reminds me of: – I can’t say that this specific portrait resembles anything I can recall. The emotion that seeps through Alberto Giacometti’s eyes are strong and pure. I can’t say that I have seen many etchings that convey such emotion. How it makes me feel: – The piece makes me feel somewhat sad, yet curious. The subject of the etching looks as though he has witnessed a lot of pain throughout his life. His calm and kind face make me wonder what he may have gone through and I pity him.
 

My copy of Jan Hladik’s work

 

Information about your copy of the arists work: This is a portrait of  Giacometti done by Hladik. My copy is of the same image and i attempted to do it in the same style. 

What materials/ techniques have you used to do the artist copy? (if you haven’t used the same materials/ techniques, why not): Hladik’s used charcoal for this and I have used Graphite. The reason why I did not use charcoal is because I did not have access to it so I tried with this picture with the second closest thing to charcoal. 

How has the artist influenced your work?: This artist has influenced my work by allowing me to try a technique which I am familiar with. I am learning to draw faces and I personally think that I have done a reasonable job. 

What do you like about the artists and your own work?: I absolutely love how Hladik’s has been able to put so much emotion in the eyes and I like how I have almost done the same.

How could you improve?: I could improve this drawing by putting more detail in the drawing. and I could attempt to do it with charcoal.  

If you had to do it again, what would you do differently? If I was to do this differently I would do it in Charcoal as well as put more detail into it.

Leave a comment